OHS students write their way to national awards

Oakville High student journalists earn national awards
Posted on 11/25/2018
OHS Journalism StudentsOakville High School students earned seven individual awards in write-off contests at the National High School Journalism Convention in November in Chicago.

Two entries won Superior awards, the highest rating possible in each contest. Kristin Kuchno earned a Superior award in Yearbook Copy and Captions: Clubs, while the team of Caden Turner, Isabella Wirthlin and Selma Vukovic received Superior in the Broadcast Public Service Announcement category.

Jordan Beseda earned an Excellent award in her Broadcast Anchor contest and Beth Hagan received an Excellent rating in Sports Writing. Caroline Lewis (Yearbook Copy and Captions: Academics), Christina Meier (Review Writing) and Emily Merritt (Sports Action Photography) all received honorable mention awards.

More than 6,000 high school students from nearly all 50 states attended the convention. It was the second highest attendance in high school journalism convention history.

Pictured (L-R): Isabella Wirthlin, Caroline Lewis, Christina Meier, Caden Turner, Kristin Kuchno, Beth Hagan, Jordan Beseda, Selma Vukovic and Emily Merritt
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.